Paulo Coelho – Aleph

WanderlustAleph is a very good book. Not as much because of the story but because of the main character’s inspiration: a writer who takes the Transiberian from Moscow to Vladivostok with his Russian Editor, a translator and an strange girl, Hilal. I love Paulo Coehlo’s sens of life, experience and travel. I found not less than 16 very inspiring quotes in this book, in other words I spent the entire book writing down page numbers on my phone. But it was worth it.

Here I am trying to persuade myself that I always give the best of myself and nature is telling me exactly the opposite: anyone truly committed to life never stops walking.

p.15

The doors open with a noise that echoes down the platform, and people start to move. Who are these people climbing into the carriages? What does this journey mean to each passager? A reunion with their loved one, a family visit, a quest for wealth, a triumphant or shamefaced return home, a discovery, an adventure, a need to flee or to find? The train is filling up with all these possibilities.

p.69

If you spend too much time trying to find out what is good or bad about someone else, you’ll forget your own soul end up exhausted and defeated by the energy you have wasted in judging others.

p.72

I’m looking at the light, at a sacred place, and a wave washes over me, filling me with peace and love, two things that rarely come together.

p.78

Walking is doing wonders for body and soul. I’m completely focused on the present moment, for that is where all signs, parallel worlds and miracles are to be found. Time really doesn’t exist.

p.88

But it’s a sunny day, and if the world seems to be at peace, that’s because it is.

p.89

If I had to give you one piece of advice it would be this: don’t be intimidated by other people’s opinions. Only mediocrity is sure of itself, so take risks and do what you really want to do. Seek out people who aren’t afraid making mistakes and who, therefore, do make mistakes. Because of that, their work often isn’t recognized, but they are precisely the kind of people who change the world and, after many mistakes, do something, that will transform their own community completely.

p.90

Despite being a brilliant violinist and a warrior in the art getting what she wants, she is still a child and always will be, as will I and all those who really want the best that life can offer, as only a child can.

p.132

Life is one long training session, in preparation for what will come. Life and death lose their meaning, there are only challenge to be met with joy and overcome with tranquility.

p.147

‘There’s nothing worse than being rejected. Your light finds the light of another soul and you think that the windows will open, the sun will pour in, and all you old wounds will finally heal. Then suddenly, none of that happens’.

p.154

I stroke her hair. I need to use all the tact and delicacy at my command, to say everything and nothing.
‘All I need at the moment is for you to embrace me, a gesture as old as humanity itself, and which means far more than the meeting of two bodies. An embrace means I don’t feel threatened by you, I’m not afraid to be this close, I can relax, feel at home, feel protected and in the presence of someone who understand me. It is said that each time we embrace someone warmy, we gain an extra day of life. So please, embrace me now’, I say.

p.181

‘After all, a life without a cause is a life without effect.’

p.222

‘Silence is also an answer,’ she says.

p.234

‘Fermented drinks are alive; they pass from youth to old age. When they reach maturity, they can destroy the Spirit of Inhibition, the Spirit of Loneliness, the Spirit of Fear, the Spirit of Anxiety. But if you drink too much of them, they rebel and usher in the Spirit of Defeat and aggression. It’s all a matter of knowing when to stop.’

p.248-249

‘I can’t get over what everyone else seems perfectly able to get over. You are in search of your treasure, and I am part of it. Nevertheless, I feel like a stranger in my own skin. The only reason I don’t throw myself into your arms, kiss you and make love with you now is that I lack the courage and I’m afraid of losing you.’

p.259

I’m not a foreigner because I haven’t been praying to return safely home, I haven’t wasted my time imagining my house, my desk, my side of the bed. I am not a foreigner because we are all travelling, we are all full of the same questions, the same tiredness, the same fears, the same selfishness and the same generosity. I am not a foreigner because, when I asked, I received. When I knocked, the door opened. When I looked, I found.

p.270

Leave a Reply

