J.D. Salinger – The Catcher in the Rye

I heard a lot about this book before, and it was on my list since a very long time. It’s one of these books where nothing really happens: a 16 years old boy leaves his school and spends 3 days in New York before coming he can go back home. And he also talks about Jane, a girl.
But it’s a very good book.

“I call people a ‘prince’ quite often when I’m horsing around. It keeps me from getting bored or something.”

“That’s the thing about girls. Every time they do something pretty, even if they’re not much to look at, or even if they’re sort of stupid, you fall half in love with them, and then you never know where the hell you are. Girls. Jesus Christ. They can drive me crazy. They really can.”

“She was a funny girl, old Jane. I wouldn’t describe her as strictly beautiful. She knocked me out, though.”

“I like when somebody gets excited about something. It’s nice.”

“I’d have this rule that nobody could do anything phony when they visited me. If anybody tried to do anything phony, they couldn’t stay.”

Top picture from the Urban Ballads series © Jürgen Bürgin, via Chasing Light.

Leave a Reply

