F. Scott Fitzgerald – The Great Gatsby

I heard about it a lot, especially because of the film and from Anna, a friend. The atmosphere in the book and this feeling of harsh discovery from the hero are well written, but as my aunt said, not so much happens.
I enjoyed “The Catcher in the Rye” a lot, even without a lot of actions, because we feel that the hero is evolving, or at least going through feelings he never confronted to before. I think I missed this part in Gatsby, as I felt that the hero is just passing through. And I don’t like that.

Also I didn’t get all the English, and resented it.

However, I didn’t love it but found some really good quotes!

http://ryaneversonstudios.com

I was within and without, simultaneously enchanted and repelled by the inexhaustible variety of life.     p 24

Imagining that I, too, was hurrying towards gaiety and sharing their intimate excitement, I wished them well.       p 38

I wasn’t actually in love, but I felt a sort of tender curiosity.      p   38

Unlike Gatsby and Tom Buchanan, I had no girl whose disembodied face floated along the dark cornices and blinding signs, and so I drew the girl beside me, tightening my arms.  He wan, scornful mouth smiled, and so I drew her up again closer, this time to my face.      p 52

It had seemed as close as a star to the moon. Now it was again a green light on a dock. His count of enchanted objects had diminished by one.       p 60

I was thirty. Before me stretched the portentous, menacing road of a new decade. […]. Thirty — the promise of a decade of loneliness, a thinning list of single men to know, a thinning briefcase of enthusiasm, thinning hair.            p 86-87

It excited him, too, that many men had already loved Daisy – it increased her value in his eyes.      p 94

‘I’m thirty,’ I said. ‘ I’m five years too old to lie to myself and call it honour.’       p 113

Image from Ryan Everson Studios

Leave a Reply

